To do list

The clock is ticking down and my adventure is fast approaching! Mum told me that I have been talking about it for so long she just wants it to happen already! I said, “thanks mum – if I was more sensitive I’d think you werent going to miss me.” She said.. well you get the idea anyway. This trip has been in the works in its rawest form since August and since then has just been building and growing and forming.
In 10 days I will say goodbye to the life and people I know and fly off by myself to Tokyo. I’ll stay there for the night and then get the train down to Kyoto for 2 nights. After that I will get the train back to Tokyo and then fly onto Vancouver -where my new life begins! I have a working holiday visa and I have no idea what I’ll end up doing – but isnt it exciting?!!
I have so many things that I want to do, so what better way to remember that than making a to do list for my trip! Any other suggestions about what I should add would be appreciated.

    AL’S TRAVEL TO DO LIST

– see a geisha in Japan
– do karaoke in Kyoto
– see a monk in a temple in Kyoto
– walk through the cherry blossoms in Kyoto
– try real sushi in Japan
– walk through the traffic in Tokyo
– watch the tokyo lights from the rooftop of roppongi hills.
– see all the sights in Vancouver
– try some real maple syrup
– go for a hike in the forest
– go thrifting for vintage with Maya
– try the blueberry bread on Granville island that Sabine mentioned
– visit some traditional first nations sites
– learn to snowboard or ski
– see some local wildlife -bears, wolves, orca, moose, deer, raccoons, squirrels etc!!
– go on a roadtrip to banff
– do the traditional halloween and thanksgiving and a white christmas!
– see a hockey match with the canucks
– take a train journey to U.S.A
– make a visit to montreal!
– go to a real diner and try some sweet pies – key lime, pecan, pumpkin hehehe.
– eat some real macaroons
– meet a real mountie

That’ll do for now! haha. You may notice that many of those feature food – I’m a sucker for sweets!! I think I’ll pin this onto one of my pages so you can see as I tick off the things I have done!

This isnt going to be easy – I dont doubt that! But I do know that it will be an amazing adventure and I will meet some incredible people. I will learn and grow and see so much!! That will make it all worth it. I’m doing something that many people dont give themselves a chance to do – but I dont want to look back in regret. I have to do this for myself because you know what? I deserve it. And so do you!

What is on your to do list?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Esme
    Mar 23, 2010 @ 10:00:14

    Lucky you, Japan! My to do list is not so very exciting today, but it is almost as long! šŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Alesha
      Mar 23, 2010 @ 12:37:31

      Hi Esme! Thanks for dropping by!! I find that people seem to have many to do lists in life – daily, weekly and perhaps even yearly. There are ones for work, travel and so much more! Fun šŸ™‚

      Reply

  2. and flowers pick themselves
    Mar 23, 2010 @ 13:59:13

    how exciting for you! if you make it to montreal, you must blog about the details. when we were up in burlington, VT last autumn, we almost drove up and spent the afternoon in montreal, which is about 2hrs away from burlington, apposed to 12hrs from my home. we ended up not being able to go, though, and i’ve been super bummed ever since.

    anyway, that’s a wonderful to do list! my favorite would have to be the canucks game.

    xo Alison

    Reply

    • Alesha
      Mar 23, 2010 @ 15:57:13

      Dont worry, I will be blogging the whole way through my adventure – I am super excited!! Yeah I have tickets to see the canucks vs avalanche on my 2nd night. It’s gonna be crazy!!!

      Reply

  3. Sabine
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 09:12:07

    I cannot wait to see your photos of Kyoto!!! I have been obsessed about Japan and the culture there for years (especially the Geisha world).
    : )
    So exciting!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

