saying sayonara to Japan and g’day to Van

Hi! You’ll have to bear with me on this post as I am still recovering and a little fragile. It has been another crazy day and by my new timezone it’s only around 2.30pm and I have been up for 27 hours. I tried to have a little nap but even though I am exhausted and my hands are sore from wheeling around my luggage I just couldnt. I think this is what they call …ya know what I even forget what its called! Hahahahaha. Brain frazzle.
Anyway, you know what I mean.

So this morning I checked out of my hotel early and headed to the local subway.
I passed this shop on the way.


And thats the subway train. I had trouble getting a ticket because the machines were all in japanese. After much looking and thinking I just pressed a button, got a ticket to who knows where, and took it to the counter. The man then said something to me in japanese and I said Kyoto station. He said a few other things in Japanese and then gave me some money back and sent me to the platform.
I got to the main station and then got another ticket for Kyoto back to Tokyo and was sent to another platform.

And more waiting with my luggage!

I look a little tired there already! Imagine how I look now! Hahaha.
And on the train again. Here are some more passing shots – I got a window seat this time!
They seem to have these huge nets in the middle of residential areas.. I have no idea what they are.


If you get the chance to go to Japan in the cherry blossom season you must go! I cant explain to you how beautiful it is to see the pinks against the city and country backdrops. Infact, I’d like to go again and explore some other islands and less populated areas – get to the real centre of the country.

There are a heap more photos in my flickr set.

Once I got to Tokyo station it was time to get on another train to the airport.

Once I was there I got my big suitcase from storage, checked in at the boarding gate and did a little bit more shopping. I was starving and I knew that I wouldnt want to eat much on the plane, so I decided to make my last meal in Japan a special one. I was game again and I tried this dish – ramen noodles with spicy bean sprouts.

And yes, I even used chopsticks (kinda badly haha).

It was actually really nice, and I ate a whole lot of it! Yay for my last meal in Japan being traditional and a hit!

Then after another wander I went to the gate to wait to get on the plane. I took the opportunity to listen to all of the voices around me, picking up bits of stories here and there but mainly focusing on the accents. When you’re in a foreign country you seem to be drawn to familiar faces – and I found myself searching for an Aussie accent or passport. I didnt have much luck! I sat there and thought about how surreal this whole thing still is. There I was, in Japan, about to get on a plane to Vancouver. Wow!!

And before I knew it I was on the plane! I watched a couple of movies (It’s complicated and Mister Magoriums Wonder Imporium), listened to music and tried to rest. Hours later we landed and I walked off the plane and into Vancouver Airport. It’s a really nice airport! They have a fountain and some jellyfish and totem poles and everything! I went through customs and immigration and was granted a 2 year working holiday visa – officially! YAY!
So then I had to find my way to another train and got off at the nearest stop to my hotel. I looked out the window and smiled at the view. I was planning to get a taxi to my hotel from the station but ended up walking about 8 blocks with my 2 big suitcases and 2 bags. No wonder my arms were sore!!! But it was worth it for the views.
Welcome to Vancouver!!

And this is my view from the hotel.

Pretty cool eh?!! Eh! Hehehe.
Now to look through all the brochures I’ve got and my new map and work out my plans for tomorrow!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. and flowers pick themselves
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 09:06:38

    you made it! hooray! 🙂

    can’t wait to hear more about vancouver. it is in my top three destinations i plan on spending time in at some point in my life. such a fascinating city.

    xo Alison

    Reply

  2. aya
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 09:22:53

    Oh, how I miss Japan! (Nagoya in Particular), and good ramen. haha.. You are beautiful btw, I had to say that 🙂 suteki na post!

    Love,
    Aya ♥ StrawberryKoi.blogspot.com

    Reply

  3. Sabine
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 11:15:56

    Welcome to Canada!!!
    where are you staying in Vancouver? Do you have an apartment already, or do you plan on finding one while you are there? (same with work?…my old work might be looking for someone?)

    Reply

    • Alesha
      Apr 06, 2010 @ 12:08:01

      Thanks Sabine!! I’ve organised a homestay to move into on friday – but for the meantime I’m staying downtown in a hotel. I have no idea about work yet – really?!! I’d love to hear more 🙂

      Reply

  4. Sabine
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 02:48:22

    send me your email address and i will email you some info.
    (so i don’t write too long of a comment here lol)
    i used to work for a label printing company in port coquitlam (not too far away from downtown).
    you arrived at a lovely time of year by the way !
    it should be beautiful weather : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

