In the deepest cove, beauty resides.

I took a trip to Deep Cove yesterday. Wow. What a gorgeous place! I was greeted by a beautiful day outside and for once I didnt have my thick knit jacket or trench on, instead I opted for about 4 lighter layers and it worked. As I wasnt given any work hours this week I got to a point where I was actually thinking it’d be nice to go to work, so now that I have 5 days rostered on for next week I’m feeling better about it. They’re only from 3 to 5 hour shifts, so thats a good thing! I almost ran out of places to explore this week! What? Never! Haha.

Anyway, yes, deep cove!!

It was a real typical quaint little fishing village, a bit like a smaller Canadian version of Sorrento. It was so incredible to see the water and the huge mountains of trees. Thats the thing that always reminds me I’m somewhere else – the trees are so different from in Australia!! They are so deep green and thick and tall. I love it! Deep Cove is the ‘summer holiday’ place for a lot of Canucks and I can totally understand why!

If I had a sweetheart I could see myself doing something like this couple.

Just sitting, watching, listening and talking. That’s the ideal isnt it? What a perfect way to waste a few hours! Instead I wandered along to the waters edge and sat on some rocks for a while. I wrote in my journal and I contemplated life and its complexities.

I ate a chocolate donut at honeys (one of those things you ‘have to do!’) and then walked it off on a trail. Well I spose I walked off a quarter of it anyway hahaha.

I did my typical hiking thing of inner dialogue ‘I wonder if I’m gonna see any animals, oh maybe a bear will come over that hill. I wonder if there’s a wolf watching me. Why cant I see any raccoons? Come on raccoons! Ooh was that a squirrel? Nope, just a bird.’ Hehehehe. yes, for real. My senses go into overdrive and I try to tap into every sound and locate something. And I fail everytime but I WILL find them one of these days. You can count on it!

I decided that I’ll have to go back and visit Deep Cove in the summer to take a kayak and explore some more!

Before I go – two more things! I tried a ‘beavers tail’ today!! Another Canadian thing I had to try. Went to Lonsdale Market & Gastown. It looked like a huge potato cake but it was yuuuuuuuuuuum. You have no idea! It was like a thin donut and I got the maple butter one with chocolate. MmMMMMmMMmm.

Aaaand I wore my other new vintage dress.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. and flowers pick themselves
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 21:24:06

    great photos. those clouds look amazing.

    šŸ™‚

    xo Alison

    Reply

  2. Kristy
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 21:54:22

    wow, more and more stunning vistas!! Check your email sweets, you got mail šŸ˜› much love Kristy xoxox

    Reply

  3. Cristina
    Apr 24, 2010 @ 10:45:44

    The day seems great! Love all those water places!

    Today I finally have been doing a little photowalk around the stream. Not so much stream on the photos (I’ll go again..) but fun and an awesome weather! I’ll post something soon.

    p.s: Just add you in twitter šŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Alesha
      Apr 24, 2010 @ 11:36:37

      Hey!! Glad to hear you did a little photo walk, cant wait to see your post on them soon.
      Thanks for the heads up about twitter too šŸ™‚

      Reply

  4. Cristina
    Apr 24, 2010 @ 10:46:08

    p.s.2: @call_me_tina it’s me šŸ˜€

    Reply

  5. Megan
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 11:25:42

    What a beautiful place! That beavers tail looks so delicious, I want one of my own now. I’m not that far from Canada…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

