Ancient Wisdom is everlasting.

I have always had a huge fascination with the first nations culture of North America. I suppose in part I grew up watching little house on the prairie and dr quinn medicine woman. I remember buying several books of native quotes and speeches and being in awe of the wisdom. I remember first reading ‘Bury my heart at wounded knee’ and bawling my eyes out practically every chapter. I wanted to change what really happened, I felt bitter at the injustice and ignorance. I wanted to be there, to meet the people and to see it all with my own eyes. So it makes sense in a way that I am finally here, in Canada, and that a big part of my to do list is to do with first nations discoveries.

You may recall that I made a stop at the Museum of Anthropology. That was important. The other day I found these amazing postcards that I will turn into an artwork when I am back home. They are each incredible and take me back to the stories and journeys the photos contain. I hope you like them just as much as I did.

I hope to see a lot more of the culture first hand and meet some of the people. I love their connection with nature, and I believe if we understood and took on more of that the world would be a better place.
And if you’re looking for a book on the true history of ‘how the west was won’ then please read Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee. It will change your life.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cristina
    Apr 25, 2010 @ 06:43:25

    Good pictures. It seems interesting

    Love!
    xxx

    Reply

  2. and flowers pick themselves
    Apr 25, 2010 @ 10:51:01

    lovely post. ohio has a deep american indian history. the streets near my house all have iroquois names. even though the united state’s treatment of native americans is such a sad and embarrassing part of our history, i still cherish it.

    enjoy your day

    xo Alison

    Reply

    • Alesha
      Apr 25, 2010 @ 14:27:05

      And only by remembering the past and learning from it can we make sure to not make the same mistakes again. Knowledge is the answer to ignorance.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

