My adventure kit and latest finds

To have a good adventure you need to have a good tool kit. My handbag is always an integral part of my adventures, as I always try to make sure that I bring along important things I might need. You never know when it’ll come in handy. I guess that month I spent in the girl guides rubbed off in some way. So what tools are important? First of all you have to start with a good bag. This bag needs to have personality, and be rugged and reliable. You never know what kind of situations it will be put in or what kind of things it’ll need to carry. So far I have stuck with this bag.

I dont know if it is real leather, I got it as a sample from my old work so it probably isnt. It features some studs and fringing (that I cut into different lengths). You may also notice my little friend hanging on the side.
I got him on a trip to Noosa at one of the fave QLD stores I discovered while living in Brisbane, called Mombasa. They used to have a cool website but I couldnt find it on google, so I hope they are still around. Anyway, this lil guy is so cute and I love that he comes on every adventure with me.

Wanna take a look inside my bag?

Ok most importantly would be my camera (I cant technically take a photo of the camera as the camera is taking the pics, so this is my case instead). When travelling and exploring you must always have your camera with you – you never know what incredible things you may encounter and your friends wont believe you have seen big foot unless you get a photo!

A wallet (with some local money) is equally important! You wont be able to pay admission fees or buy any food or water without it, so make sure you bring along your wallet – with some ID too just incase you need it. It helps if your wallet is bright and cheerful and also is an added benefit if one of your lovely friends bought it for you.

Sunglasses! You never know when your eyes might start squinting and you might need some sunglass protection. You also never know when you might have to go incognito and put on some rockstar shades. If you have them in your adventure kit you are well prepared.

Journal and pen! It also helps if one of your best friends bought this for you! When you are on one of your adventures you wont be able to fit your laptop in your handbag, so bringing a journal to write in when you are looking at the incredible scenery is important. And when you have about 10 journals to fill up then you have to start somewhere!! Haha. You should always carry a pen in your bag because I guarantee you will always need one.
An umbrella is essential if you are travelling anywhere that is prone to sudden and unexpected showers (Vancouver is exactly ths type of place). I cant tell you how often an adventure has been saved by my umbrella!!
A big map is also essential. Especially one that is waterproof and rip proof! How awesome is that!! hahaha. I even tried ripping it and nope, it is unrippable!

This map has saved me many times from getting extra lost and if I got it out more often and read it it’d save me even more I am sure.

It has written little tips and ideas about places to go and things you should see and the street names are quite big. This is also important!!
My ipod is another important part of my day. This saves me from long bus rides and walking through dodgy parts of town while pretending to not hear people ask me for money. This is 8 gig, and it is full to the brim with my music – which is a huge part of my life. I cant believe I was silly enough to almost give away this ipod because my ex bought it for me and I thought it’d make me sad. I’m glad someone talked me out of that! hahaha.

My asthma puffer! Sometimes I get a little breathless and it is very important that I bring my puffer with me. I dont get asthma too badly, so as long as I keep it under check I am fine.
I dont ever wear lipstick, and dry lips are my enemy! So I carry my Lucas Paw Paw Lotion, which is not only great as a lipgloss, it also works on burns and insect bites. AMAZING!!
My little heart purse carries bandaids, hair clips, a mirror and paracetamol. Never know when a headache can come on or a little cut, and by getting out my little purse problem solved and the adventure doesnt have to be over!!


This is my latest addition! My Canadian cell phone! It’s really cool and has a little pop out keyboard so I can do some mobile browsing on the go! I also have a feature that gives me the time locally and then I have chosen canberra (there was no melbourne and I wasnt going to choose sydney) as my other time option. So it tells me what time it is back home in Australia – too cool!

So those are the basic things I take along on every adventure. I always feel pretty covered for almost every certainty. What do you make sure to always have with you??

Here are a few of the litte things I’ve bought recently.

Some gorgeous locally made Lace earrings.


A Canadian hat – warm enough for winter! Hahaha its a little funny but I love it. Cant wait to wear it!


And today I bought a vintage Agate ring from a funky consignment stall at blim market. It’s so pretty and different!! I love the detailing at the side and around the stone.

Hope your weekend was lovely and full of lots of adventures!!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cristina
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 15:39:28

    I use to wear a huge bag where I can put on a lot of things. You never know when you’re gonna need some things! I always carry with myself almost the same as you posted here 😀

    I like the ring! I’d love to find beautiful ones here.. Someday I have to go to see some.

    Love!
    xxx

    p.s: You can see some of the pics I took when I was doing my photowalk. I’ve posted them already 😉

    Reply

    • Alesha
      Apr 26, 2010 @ 15:47:36

      I forgot to mention my keys, tissues and a little notepad. Hehehe its great coz the bag doesnt even look that big compared to the huge ones I see people carrying! Cool!

      Reply

  2. Erika
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 23:23:04

    Jealous of how many things/the things that you have scratched off your to-do list!! 😉 Anyway, cuteee bag! Cool that you cut the fringing into different lengths. I always like to carry a bag that I can strung across my shoulder so I won’t get tired of carrying it! And, I always make sure to keep a pen too…it comes in so so handy! Of course, I’m not on any huge adventure…I’m just living my daily school-work-home life 🙂

    Well, thanks for stopping by & commenting. Be sure to stop by again!
    Erika

    Reply

    • Alesha
      Apr 27, 2010 @ 08:51:48

      Thanks for saying hello Erica! I like shoulder bags too and I am quite partial to satchels, infact I might change to one of those soon! Hehe.
      Every day has the possibility of Adventure – even if you are nowhere special. You dont have to travel, you just need your spirit of adventure and a bit of imagination! 🙂
      I am glad my to do list is getting things crossed off but I keep adding things too so its not getting that smaller haha.

      Reply

  3. Sandy a la Mode
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 09:48:28

    that is one FABULOUS black bag! i loved looking at your pictures with the explanation of why you have each item in your bag, definitely learned just a little bit more about you! i love these types of posts where you can get more insight on bloggers’ lives! =) that lace necklace is SOOO adorable, i want it!!! =P

    Reply

  4. rodaSheardFuh
    May 28, 2010 @ 13:43:00

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

    Reply

Leave a Reply

