The seawall and the raccoon.

So today one of my dreams came true, but that story will have to wait for a little bit.
Today started with an unexpected text message from a friend of a friend, Ed. It turned out that we were both free today (and the sun was out), so he offered to meet me at waterfront station and show me around. I happily agreed – you can learn a lot about a place through talking with the people who live there.

We started the officialness at the site of the Olympic Cauldron.

I was surprised to see it still there, apparently they are keeping it there for good and will light it for special events. As far as I know we didnt get to keep the ones in Sydney or Melbourne – am I wrong?? Anyway, it was a beautiful area.

It was interesting talking to Ed, he has been a background actor for quite a while now and he has lots of cool stories. He has even been in Stargate – thats the ultimate for me! Haha. I might get into background work too, it seems to be something that’ll be interesting and as I have a few contacts I think I’ll use them.

Here’s Ed poking the new leggo orca artwork at the waterfront.

So we decided to walk the whole seawall of Stanley Park. I reckon I ended up doing about 12km’s, which is pretty darn good! haha.

Next stop along the walk was the totem poles!! I was very impressed with how tall this one was.

Ok here is the dream coming true part. So we are walking along and then I see a squirrel and do my usual “SQUIRREL!”. And then we laugh at myself…and watch the squirrel run across the road. So the squirrel runs near this log and then I look over and see something on the log and I go to Ed “whats that on the log!”. He goes “what? nothing!” I have this instinct though and walk a bit closer and realise as the shape jumps off the log that IT IS A RACCOON!!! So I think I may have squealed a little. Hahaha. And then it ran off into the scrub. So we cross the road and go over to look if we can see it in the scrub and then it’s on the edge – about to completely disappear. Then Ed goes “come here little raccoon” and makes all these noises and the raccoon turns around and starts to head towards us. At this moment all of the ‘rabies! DANGER!’ signs come back into my head and I say “is it going to attack me?”. Ed says “no, but if it does we’ll go to the hospital.” SO then the little raccoon comes so close so so so close and I get these photos. Heeeee!!

Oh my gosh it was the most exciting thing ever hahaha. And so I got to cross another thing off my to do list! Wooo.
So after I calmed down we walked on a bit further and saw some more really pretty things.

It was a long walk, but it was great to see the whole of the seawall and just be out in the sunshine! I had a fun day. Thanks Ed!

If you want to check out his adventure blog click here.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cristina
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 07:38:39

    Wow! You got it! He’s so cute.. I’d love to meet some one day 😀

    The best is go with someone who lives there ’cause he/she can show you a lot of things that only a few know. It’s great. In other way maybe you never see something of this.

    The place seems beautiful! All those huge totems and everything! I love it. The day seems quite fun!

    Love!
    xxx

    Reply

  2. Edwin
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 21:39:50

    I have to show you a skunk next time!

    Reply

  3. Edwin
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 21:59:13

    Reply

  4. and flowers pick themselves
    May 02, 2010 @ 10:14:15

    i really need to go spend some time by water + mountains as soon as possible. beautiful!

    xo Alison

    Reply

Leave a Reply

