A windy day in Kitsilano

So yesterday I met up with my new friend from work Sophie and she took me exploring around her local area of Kitsilano. I hadnt been there before, so it was a great opportunity for me to get some good insider knowledge. First of all we met at the Art Gallery in Vancouver (after my meeting with the extras agent) and headed to Red Robin for lunch. They have some really nice burgers with big fries. We also got some freckled lemonade, which was incredible!

It has strawberries in a sugar syrup in a tangy lemonade. Soooo good!!

So after that we stopped in a few vintage stores and then caught a bus to Kits. We did a little shopping at Zulu Records (really cool record and cd store), Gravity Pope (awesome but expensive shoes), the Salvation Army thrift store and a few other little shops and then headed down to the beach.

Man, it was so windy!! We were almost blown away! I hadnt seen it like this before and it made walking a bit harder.

It was perfect for the kite surfers though, they were loving it!

We got a drink after all the walking and sat down for a little while.

You can see how bad the wind was! Look at my hair! hahahaha. I was glad to see that I wasnt the only one who was feeling the cold. And so on we went.
Sophie showed me some cool places and then we ended up at the Planetarium.

And lo and behold it was closed! Bugger!
Undeterred, we walked on to check out the 100ft totem pole that towered over the park.


Massive eh?!! Then Sophie showed me the community gardens and her old school. It was really interesting, and my feet were sore by the end of the day! hehehe.
I love exploring!!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sabine
    May 04, 2010 @ 19:19:04

    hey al!

    wow!!! you have been all over BC so far! looks like you are having an amazing time! : )
    was just able to catch up on all your lovely posts…love your softie creature creations! too cute!

    Reply

    • Alesha
      May 04, 2010 @ 20:04:08

      helloooooo Sabine!!!!! Thankyou, I feel like I am really getting a feel for the place and settling in well. Nice to hear from you!
      I still have a lot to see!

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Tweets that mention A windy day in Kitsilano « Al's Adventure -- Topsy.com
  3. Amy Cairns
    May 07, 2010 @ 00:40:08

    Hey Alesha,

    I am so glad that you are enjoying your experience in Vancouver, it is such a beautiful place and it is so nice to read your thoughts about it all, most of the time i am nodding along saying to myself yep i remember that feeling!

    To quote a beautiful friend on Vancouver “There’s just something about the natural beauty, that really is tough to beat.”

    Hope you are having a blast it sounds like you are

    Reply

    • Alesha
      May 07, 2010 @ 09:08:34

      Hi Amy!!! Thanks so much for saying hi! Hope all is well back home.
      I still have your email of tips and refer to it now and then when I’m looking for things to do 🙂
      I certainly am!!
      Take care.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

