Rock em at the roller derby

I had been looking forward to this day for so long! I kept hoping it’d come and I kept my fingers crossed. Yes, I got to cross another thing off my to do list. I got to go and see the Roller Derby!!!!

I decided that it was the perfect day to wear my newest vintage dress, and took along my vintage handbag too. Before we left I did a little shoot, as promised, to show you how I styled it up.


Dress – vintage thrifted

Purpley Blue Tights (worn under the black) – American Apparel

Black Tights – Myer

Belt – Sussan

Hair Flower – Sportsgirl


And off we headed to Richmond to see the terminal city rollergirls play. I have to be honest, I dont think I had even heard about this sport until I read about the movie Whip It. Watching it on the plane flight over here inspired me even more! I had no idea what to expect or how realistic the movie was. For a bit of info on the sport click here.

First thing that hit me was that this is a flat track -not a raised track like in the movie. The crowd was really alternative and really into the action. I love how the roller girls get to make their own personas and outfits, some of the names were quite funny.

The sport is just as full on as I thought it’d be. There were girls being knocked over left, right and centre.

Some of the jammers go around the track so quickly it almost looks like this.

It made me want to get back into rollerskating, I havent gone in about 10 years! haha. And I could see myself doing some rollerderby and unleashing that – but I think I may be too scared of breaking some bones.

We got to see 4 teams race, and I couldnt even tell you which was my fave or who won.


It was just all very interesting, the colors, the characters and the injuries!! I bet they all have lots of bruises.

**Post Note** Since I posted this I have had more than 13 visits from the terminal city rollergirls forum. There must be some sort of linkage going on?!! If you’ve visited me from there please drop a line to say hi!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cristina
    May 16, 2010 @ 12:10:27

    I like how the dress fits you! I thought it was more ugly that it really is!!

    And I’m glad you had fun. I’ve never been in one of this.. actually I’m not so sure that there’s this in Spain 😀

    Love!
    xxx

    Reply

  2. Gail
    May 16, 2010 @ 23:27:23

    The dress looks great just love those buttons.

    Glad you enjoyed the Roller Derby would be interesting to watch.

    Reply

  3. Starr Crow
    May 18, 2010 @ 09:59:54

    gorgeous outfit. i do thing your photos are good too! i’ve never been to a roller-derby match, but i would totally love to go. what a great time that must have been.

    Reply

    • Alesha
      May 18, 2010 @ 10:48:52

      Thanks so much for dropping by! Aww.
      It was a lot of fun, you should get along to a match if you can. It’s one of those things you need to cross of your to do list at some stage!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

