Did I just do that? It doesnt sound like me.

I did something this morning that is very out of character. I got into the lift in my hotel to go down to breakfast and there was a guy in there with a suitcase – I presumed he was checking out. I’m staying on the 2nd floor, and I noticed that the 1st floor button was pressed as well as the ground lobby, but I didnt think anything of it. I did my usual ‘stare at the door’ thing, and then we stopped at the first floor. The doors opened and I moved out of the way to either let the guy off or someone else in but there was no-one at the door and he didnt move. Then he said (laughing) “sorry, that was me. I pressed the wrong button.” I turned around for a second and noticed that he was quite cute, then smiled and said “no problem!”

I got out at the lobby and went to the breakfast room and I presumed he went to check out. Then when I was sitting at a seat I noticed him walk past outside and he didnt have his suitcase with him. He must have left it at the desk while he did a few things around the city, I thought. As I ate my breakfast some strange part of me formulated a plan. I would go upstairs after I’d eaten and I would write him a letter and then I would ask the front desk to give it to him.

So I went to my room and I wrote:
“Hi! My name is Alesha. We met on the lift, I got on at the 2nd floor and you accidently pressed the 1st floor button. I dont ever do this but I thought you seemed really nice so I wanted to give you my email address in the off chance that you might be heading to Vancouver and want to hang out sometime. I’m Australian and on a working holiday, staying in North Van. It’s an adventure! (insert email address) Take care, Alesha. :)”

On the way down to the lobby I kept debating about whether to do it or not and decided if there was no-one at the desk I would. I always tend to do those little tests. And there was no-one there. So I spoke to the lady and I said “A guy just checked out before and left his suitcase here..”
“Yeah,” she said “did you want to get into it?”
“Oh no, I just wanted to leave him a letter.” I replied.
“Ok sure.” she answered.
“Did you see him?” I said
“Yeah.” she replied.
“Did he have short hair, kinda curly.”
“Yeah, and a suitcase.” she replied.
“Was it a small suitcase?” I answered.
“Hang on.” she said, and went and got it to show me.
“I think thats it, yeah.” I answered.
“Cool, wouldnt want you to give your letter to the wrong guy!” she said.
“Thanks!” I answered and walked away.

I’m not expecting to hear anything (it might not even be the right guy haha) but it was good to do something out of my comfort zone. I’ve always wanted to get a letter like that!

I will be doing a HUGE post all about my time here on Vancouver Island when I get back to North Van. I’m leaving here tomorrow. My camera battery died, so I cant upload the photos I have taken and had to buy a disposable camera today.
I have so many little stories I wouldnt know where to start, so the wrap up post should be up soon!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jamie
    May 25, 2010 @ 20:59:10

    Hold on!!! I just want to know what the girl at the desk was doing asking a stranger if you wanted to get into his suitcase???!!! HAHA security is air tight!

    Reply

  2. Gail
    May 25, 2010 @ 23:30:50

    Hi Alesha,

    No it does not sound like you but hey life is an adventure so do a few strange things it could be fun.

    Reply

  3. Cristina
    May 26, 2010 @ 03:54:39

    I’ll never do that haha I think I would talk to him instead the letter.
    But it’s always good doing thing that you don’t do the most of the time.

    Can’t wait to read how the whales trip and everything went! 😀

    Love!
    xxx

    Reply

  4. Karyn Mcgill
    May 31, 2010 @ 06:55:49

    You have done it once again! Superb post!

    Reply

  5. Kristy
    May 31, 2010 @ 22:36:31

    Wow! i love it, and a letter too, what a romantic gesture, like something out of the movies!! Good on you for stepping out of your comfort zone Alesha! That’s cool, I love that kind of spontanious fun! Tell me did you hear back from the guy?? Either way you had nothing to loose.

    Kristy xoxoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

