Where to begin? At the beginning!

I’m going to have to cut this down into a few posts because I have so much info and pics and not enough time. SO here is the long version first day of my trip to Vancouver Island.

Wow, Vancouver Island is beautiful! It has such a big British influence, and with lots of English tourists too. It is, afterall, the capital city of British Columbia!
I got the fancy pacific coach bus from Vancouver and it drove me to the ferry. Sitting up so high and in my comfy seat it made me want to do some more bus touring – like maybe a coach trip somewhere? I’m investigating!! Anyway, we then got to walk around for an hour and a half while the ferry went along.

It was HUGE! Like a mini cruise ship!

It had about 4 restaurants and shops and then another level on top with just seating.


This is what our ship looked like (another one passed us)

We passed through all these little islands with houses and it made me think about the people who must live there.

Then the bus drove me to Douglas Street (which is the main street in Victoria) and I walked up to my hotel and checked in. The place I stayed at has several restaurants, a pub and nightclub on site. The first night my room looked out on the rooftop sand volleyball court and bar.

That was all well and good during the day but when the music didnt stop until 2am it was a bit much for me. I ended up going down at about midnight to complain to the front desk, but they were all booked out and couldnt move me. He gave me some earplugs but they didnt work. So the next afternoon when the music started I ended up going down to inquire if there were any other rooms available since I was still there for 2 more nights. It turned out that I was in luck, and they moved me to another room on the other side of the hotel. I slept like a LOG for the rest of my trip. AMEN! Anyway, back to day one haha.

So after I’d settled a bit in my room I went for a walk down to the harbour.

There were so many people about!! I walked in some souveneir stores and then headed down towards the empress hotel.

It’s a beautiful ivy covered old building, and a bit further along was the parliament buildings.

I really felt the English touches, and noticed English accents and even Irish around. I hadnt noticed that in Vancouver for a while and it was nice!! Then I noticed right down beside the harbour there was a market on. As I walked down to check it out I realised that there were about 12 stalls that featured native first nations selling their wares.

They were actually sitting there, on the grass with their beads and wooden carvings on the ground – proud and strong. I had to stop myself from crying. I’m such a strange person. This was the first real group of first nations I had ever seen together in one spot and it touched me so deeply. I was way too shy to ask the questions I wanted to and couldnt buy anything. I felt unworthy.

So I walked around some more and then I got a lemon lime float. The sound of a brass band drew me back to the parliament buildings and I noticed signs saying that the roads will be closed off tomorrow.

I later found out that there was actually going to be a proper parade with floats and bands and everything the next day! Very exciting! hahaha.

Stay tuned for day two!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cristina
    May 27, 2010 @ 05:37:09

    Walt finally went off the island with his father, Michael. They gave Jack, Kate and Sawyer to the others in a little harbour, and they left in a little boat. Later Michael came back to in a ship, but it has nothing to do with Walt already.. too much to explain.

    It seems like a very beautiful place!
    I’ve never been in any kind of boat, it looks like fun! I love the water, so it would be great to me.

    At least they gave you another room! I think I’d go to complain too if I coulnd’t sleep cause the noise. My sleep is so important to me.. if I don’t sleep I’m like another person sometimes xD

    A pity that you coulnd’t buy something from them, with all you like it! At least you knew about the parade ๐Ÿ™‚

    Love!
    xxx

    Reply

    • Alesha
      May 27, 2010 @ 08:41:55

      Thanks for the info, yeah Lost is one of those shows that confused me hehe. So much going on!!
      I just had to complain because it was ridiculous!! I need my sleep too! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Ooh wait until day two and three ๐Ÿ˜‰
      xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

