I walk these streets like a ghost

With my headphones in, listening to my favorite music fill my head I wander along these streets. I’m in Japan, Canada and America and it’s all the same. People walk past me, they go about their daily lives shopping, eating, walking. To work, from work, on holiday. Whatever. Life goes on for them the same as it always has before they spotted a glimpse of me walking by, and life will go on the same after. They may not even notice me. Mostly they dont even care. They are business men, lower class, beggars, women, children and men. White, black, yellow, red, brown, every beautiful color of humanitys rainbow. I have seen them all. I have seen yelling, dancing, laughing, singing, playing, drinking, eating, begging, praying, solicitating, crying, walking, running, tripping, sitting, kissing and jumping.

I am the stranger wandering these streets, you do not know my face and you will probably never see me again. I am quite easy to forget, with my unique fashion sense and pretty face. I will wear my layers for protection, sunglasses to give me distance and headphones to drown out your voice. I probably wont hear it if you call out to me, and if I do I’ll probably try to ignore it. I wont give you any change, but I will tell you I dont know where the street you are looking for is if you ask me. I’m a tourist too.

And so I walk, and I look and my eyes are wide open. But again, I could be anywhere. It is all the same. All these countries and here I discover what I have known all along. Here I acknowledge that I am living life at a safe distance. Everywhere I have been I have adventured and walked and discovered new things. But to know a country you must know its people. I have seen them, watching with curious eyes. At times I have listened too, when they didnt know I could hear. But just as in Japan I never really got under their skin. I think I am doing that in Canada. After more than 3 months I should be starting to atleast. I guess 4 days isnt enough in a country unless you really have a handle on your social skills. And I dont.

This is my last day in America, I am going back to Canada tomorrow morning. I have a feeling though, that I’ll be back sooner than I realise. What an adventure it has been!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cristina
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 01:48:41

    It happens whatever the city or country is. I have lived it when I was in Madrid or Barcelona, or whenever. And I’m agree with you, until you talk to someone (which I did) and know how the people are, you’ll never ‘know’ the place.

    I’m glad you had a good time there! As I said already, I’d love to visit some U.S city someday soon.

    Love!
    xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

