car free day festivals

So the other week I met Edwin and we went down to check out the car free day festivals! “What are they Alesha?”, you ask me. Well basically once a year a few popular shopping streets/areas close down a busy street to cars and make a festival of it with performers and food and market stalls. HELL YEAH!!!!

We first went to Commercial Drive and then ended up at Main Street (or vice versa I cant remember).

There were all kinds of street performers like these crazy people. I have no idea what their story was! haha.

I even saw a police officer walk past who would have been close to 7ft tall. Ok maybe 6ft 5 but he was HUGE!!!!! So I was standing waiting to meet Ed and then I thought that he might be trying to sneak up on me. He has this thing with friends that when they meet up one of them tries to “shoot” the other one with a pretend gun. He told me this a while ago and ever since then I make sure to use my stealth and shoot him. EVERY TIME. And yes, again I saw him walking through the crowd and I ran behind him and then went “pow, pow, you’re dead.” hahahahaha. He was so annoyed that I killed him again! Sorry Ed, I am just STEALTH!

And then we went to get some food. Tim has told me to try this french dish called Poutine for ages and so Ed was game to get some with me. Poutine as Tim describes it is “french fries with cheese and curds and gravy.” It never really appealed to me. Ed and I both ordered the meat poutine, so that aleast it would have some meat and vegies to soak it up (that was the plan). Here is what came out.

WOAH indeed.
I’m not a fan of cheese curds. I didnt think I would be, but atleast I tried.

Snapped Ed as he was about to take a photo of his too. Ahhhh bloggers.

And so because Ed got the poutine I had to get his dessert, which was a deep fried mars bar. I have heard talk about it for years but was never game enough to try. Today was my day.

It was really quite strange. It was ok. The mars bar was a little melted and the pastry batter thing was really hard. Personally I prefer snickers to mars bars as I like the nuts hehe.

Then we came across some derby girls!! Ed loved this, as he has never seen them before. Haha!!

Oh AND we went into a kids shop and Ed found a new umbrella. There was a small lightsaber one and then this bigger samurai sword one. HILARIOUS. He was like a little kid in a candy shop.

Funny moment was when a man approached us with his son and told Edwin his son has been running after him saying “that guy has a sword!! a sword!! can i touch it?” hahahahaha.

Oh yes and then we came across these intoxicated people dancing. Ed yelled at them to keep going all day.

I bought a ring and a necklace. It was a fun day!!!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. and flowers pick themselves
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 15:08:31

    love the layout, girly. and fried mars bars…sign me up!

    xo Alison

    Reply

  2. Cristina
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 07:23:12

    It looks like a funny day πŸ™‚
    I hope those people didn’t fall off the window xD

    Love!
    xxx

    Reply

  3. leashieloo
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 17:43:35

    Gah! I’ve always wanted to go to Vancouver, it’s the Hollywood of Canada ya know.

    Reply

  4. Stephanie
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 19:01:07

    awww i missed it this year 😦

    Last year i just found it by accident and had a great time

    Reply

Leave a Reply

